alt tag goes here

Simon & Schuster was founded in April 1924 when Richard L. Simon and M. Lincoln Schuster pooled their resources and published Simon & Schuster's first book, The Cross Word Puzzle Book, packaged with a pencil. What was a revolutionary idea at the time went on to become a runaway bestseller and a modern publishing company was launched.

In its early years, Simon & Schuster achieved commercial success from such groundbreaking mega-sellers as Will and Ariel Duran's The Story of Philosophy and Dale Carnegie's How to Win Friends and Influence People. Simon & Schuster, Inc. has since grown into a large publishing house with many divisions, but the Simon & Schuster trade imprint has remained as a cornerstone of the company and one of the most venerated brand names in the world of publishing.

In 1974, Simon & Schuster published the landmark bestseller All the President's Men by Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein, and to this day the imprint has a well-earned reputation as a premier publisher of current affairs, history, and biography. Other well-known and influential nonfiction authors include Pulitzer Prize-winners David McCullough, Taylor Branch, and Doris Kearns Goodwin, and a variety of non-fiction icons including Hillary Rodham Clinton, Walter Isaacson, Hunter S. Thompson, Stephen Ambrose, Paula Deen, President Jimmy Carter, Bob Dylan, and Carrie Fisher. Simon & Schuster also publishes scores of bestselling and critically-acclaimed fiction writers, including Mary Higgins Clark, Larry McMurtry, Jeffery Deaver, James Lee Burke, Martin Cruz Smith, Lauren Weisberger, Sandra Brown, and Nicholson Baker.

Back to Simon & Schuster Home.